Parent Volunteers

  • Arts and crafts activities
  • Organizing classroom parties and field trips
  • Sorting papers
  • Removing lessons from practice books
  • Collating student work packets
  • Checking in homework
  • Copying worksheets
  • Grading papers
  • Cutting out crafts at home
  • Stations
  • Practice sight words with small groups
  • Supporting student with tutoring
  • Listening to students read
  • Helping to monitor students when on the computer
  • Setting up and keeping your classroom library organized
  • Put up and take down bulletin boards
  • Class websites
  • Putting together a class newsletter

In a future post, I will provide you with a parent volunteer sign up sheet.

About Lucy Salerno

I have been a resident of Fairfield for over 25 years and have 30 years’ teaching experience in California K – 6 schools. I have been a music teacher, band and choral director, elementary teacher in grades K – 6, a district level technology coordinator teaching, and an elementary school administrator. In 2011, my most recent school, Scandia Elementary, on Travis Air Force Base, was awarded the California Distinguished School Award for work and programs implemented under my watch. Because of my broad educational background, I know and understand what is needed in today's difficult educational environment. I have taught writing to children in numerous grades as a core subject as well as integrating writing into other curricula areas. I retired a few years ago from the Travis Unified School District, I love working with children, and am now dedicating my services and skills in support of your children. Through love and patience, I hope to understand a child's needs, meet them where they are, build self-confidence and develop a life-long love of learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment